OKCupid Vs. Firefox – Dating Site Slams New Mozilla CEO Eich

Free market for the win.
First of two. Sorry about the volume on the screengrab.
OKCvsMozilla2
Second of two.

By Ian Tingen

Just a quick post to share something I noticed today when I blindly entered http://www.okcupid.com into my Firefox URL bar. Instead of being given a rundown of the myriad people lurking my digital self, I was met with the following:

“Hello there, Mozilla Firefox user. Pardon this interruption of your OKCupid experience.

Mozilla’s new CEO, Brendan Eich, is an opponent of equal rights for gay couples. We would therefore prefer that our users not use Mozilla software to access OkCupid.”

The note goes on to apologize for the political slant, and cites Eich’s contribution but clearly states:

“Those who seek to deny love and instead enforce misery, shame, and frustration are our enemies, and we wish them nothing but failure.”

You can look at the screencaps above for the full message. I should remark that users can continue to use Firefox by clicking a link at the bottom of a page.

Situations like this remind me that the bottom line isn’t the only thing that’s important to a company – image matters. For instance, I know that my individual consumption will never impact Chik-fil-A’s bottom line. Even so, it’s a great example to bring up when I’m explaining cognitive dissonance to a class – the mental discord I feel when I consider having a spicy chicken sandwich. We live in a world that is too interconnected to fully detangle products from the people managing them – for better or worse.

I don’t know what the full impact of OkC’s messaging will be – but I applaud them for taking a stand, especially given that their product is  love.

While the proximity to April 1 does arouse the skeptic’s eye in me, this doesn’t feel like anything beyond the good old free market at work. Guess I should look into Chrome again.

2 thoughts on “OKCupid Vs. Firefox – Dating Site Slams New Mozilla CEO Eich”

Leave a Reply

